What are judicial and non-judicial foreclosure states?

What are judicial and non-judicial foreclosure states?

If a borrower defaults and Sharestates begins the foreclosure process, the time a foreclosure takes generally depends on whether the property is located in a judicial state or non-judicial state. A judicial state means the foreclosure process must go through the court system, which can elongate the foreclosure process. A non-judicial state means that foreclosure process does not have to go through the court system, which generally makes the process quicker.

Judicial States:

Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Vermont, and Wisconsin.

Non-judicial States:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, District of Columbia, Georgia, Idaho, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico (sometimes), North Carolina, Oklahoma (unless homeowner requests judicial foreclosure), Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota (unless homeowner requests judicial foreclosure), Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wyoming.